Vision + Action = Equality in Motion

Vision 2020's Second Annual Congress

October 12, 2011
Chase Tower, 10 S. Dearborn St., Chicago, IL 60603

Vision + Action = Equality in Motion was a resounding success. Watch the video for a snapshot of the Chicago Congress and visit the blog for a first-person account of the Vision 2020 experience. 

2011 National Honorees

Dawn Staley

Dawn Staley
Hall of Fame
Olympic gold medalist
and University of South Carolina
women’s basketball coach

Maria Hinojosa

Maria Hinojosa
TV news journalist
and Frontline reporter for PBS

Coline Jenkins

Coline Jenkins
Descendant of suffragist
Elizabeth Cady Stanton and
co-Founder of the Elizabeth
Cady Stanton Trust

Mara Liasson

Mara Liasson
NPR national political correspondent

Five pairs of Chicago-area leaders who demonstrate shared leadership among women and men were honored with Equality in Action Medals.

The 2011 Chicago honorees, who represent the areas of finance, education, arts and culture, law, and business are:

  • From Ariel Investments, Chairman, CEO & Chief Investment Officer John W. Rogers, Jr. and President Mellody Hobson.
  • From Glencoe School District #35, Superintendent Cathlene A. Crawford, and Director of Finance & Operations Jason A. Edelheit.
  • From Goodman Theatre, Executive Director Roche Schulfer and Director of Development Dorlisa Martin
  • From Kirkland & Ellis LLP, Partner Howard Krane and Partner Emily Nicklin.
  • From McDonald’s, President and Chief Operating Officer Don Thompson and from McDonald’s USA, President Jan Fields.

Vision 2020 would like to thank all its sponsors


Penn Mutual

Vision 2020’s Second Annual Congress was made possible through the generous contributions of the following sponsors:



Northern Trust
JPMorgan Chase & Co.


Aronberg Goldgehn
KO Solutions LLC
Marsha Serlin / United Scrap Metal, Inc.
Mesirow Financial


Michelle Ringold, MBA, CPA

Chicago Host Committee Co-Chairs

A Chicago Host Committee was established to welcome the out-of-towners and involve those in the region. The committee was co-chaired by:

Melinda Johnson, Director of Administrative Operations, Vision 2020
Cynde H. Munzer, Partner, Aronberg Goldgehn Davis & Garmisa
Anne Pramaggiore, President and COO of ComEd

The Chicago Host Committee Members Include:

 The Chicago Host Committee Members