Danielle Jacobson Receives 2011 ASME Charles T. Main Award

Philadelphia, PA, May 16, 2011 —  

MEM Junior Danielle Jacobson has been awarded the 2011 American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Charles T. Main Award for her outstanding service to the Drexel chapter as President.

Originally established in 1919 in honor of the 37th President of ASME, the award was designed to encourage student members and young engineers to become active in public service. Danielle was nominated by Dr. Paul Oh (ASME Advisor and MEM Associate Professor).

Danielle will receive a medal, $3k cash award and travel to the awards ceremony which will be held in November during the ASME Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition. Danielle is the third Drexel ASME President to receive this prestigious award. MEM Alumni Daniel Hanna (first ever from Drexel) won in 2007 and Nate Taylor won in 2010 and is currently pursuing his mechanical engineering Ph.D. at Drexel.