For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Department of Pharmacology & Physiology News & Events

Department News

May 2016

Dr. Singh Receives Two Grants

Harpreet Singh, PhD, received an American Heart Association grant for his project, "Role and Mechanism of Mitochondrial Chloride Intracellular Channel 5 in Cardioprotection." He also received a five-year R01 award from NIH for "Chloride Intracellular Channels in Cardiac Mitochondria and Their Direct Role in Cardioprotection."

Department Retreat

The Department of Pharmacology & Physiology held a two-day retreat where faculty had an opportunity to share their research, present educational initiatives and lead student-focused activities.

Faculty Honored with Graduate School Awards

Attendees of the 2016 Graduate School Awards

Three Pharmacology & Physiology faculty members received Graduate School Faculty Awards:

  • Alessandro Fatatis, MD, PhD: ICO - Mentoring Award, MS Career-Oriented Programs
  • Seena Ajit, PhD: DBS - Mentoring Award, PhD Programs
  • Ole Valente Mortensen, PhD: Outstanding Researcher Awards - New and Early Stage Investigator(s)

Dr. Mathiasen Awarded PEG Grant

Joanne Mathiasen, PhD, received a 2016-2017 Professional Enrichment and Growth (PEG) Grant from Drexel. Her award will be used to attend online training, workshops and conferences to learn about emerging techniques in online instruction.

Botros Shenoda Receives Dean's Fellowship

Pharmacology & Physiology PhD student Botros Shenoda was awarded a Dean's Fellowship for Excellence in Collaborative or Themed Research. This fellowship is designed to support PhD-track students with innovative research projects to further develop their research experience. Botros will receive financial support for one year in the form of a scholarship, in addition to funds for supplies and/or travel.

Dr. Campbell Receives PhRMA Foundation Award, April 2016

Paul Campbell, PhD, was chosen by the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) Foundation as a recipient of a Research Starter Grant in Translational Medicine and Therapeutics. The award provides $100,000 for a one-year period.

April 2016

8th Annual Julius Axelrod Symposium

Dr. Mortensen Gives Invited Talk

Ole Mortensen, PhD, was invited to the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) to present a talk at the 8th Annual Julius Axelrod Symposium. Dr. Mortensen's talk was "Novel ways of modulating monoamine transporter function."

Golden Apple Award winners Joel Horwitz and Michael White

Golden Apple Awards

Congratulations to the following members of our teaching faculty who were recipients of 2016 Golden Apple Awards:

March 2016

Successful Thesis Defenses

We would like to congratulate the following department graduate students for successfully defending their thesis:

  • Hillevi Ets, PhD – defended March 17, 2016
  • Melissa Manners, PhD – defended March 18, 2016
  • Fei Shen, PhD – defended March 31, 2016

CURE Grant Awardees

Congratulations to the following faculty members, who received CURE Tobacco Formula Funds:

February 2016

Career Development Grant Winner

Peter Gaskill, PhD, was awarded a Drexel University Career Development Grant. These awards are designed to help faculty increase their exposure to colleagues at other institutions who can be collaborators and role models while introducing outside scholars to faculty at Drexel. The program provides funding for Drexel faculty to develop networks, nationally or internationally, with colleagues whose work complements activities at Drexel.

Upcoming Seminar Schedule

All seminars take place in the New College Building, 245 N. 15th Street, in the John A. Harvey Conference Room (Room 8312) at 11 a.m.

Tuesday, June 14:

Olga Boudker, PhD, Cornell University/Weill Cornell Medical College
Topic TBA

Tuesday, June 28

Robert H. Ring, PhD
The Autisms: A Proving Ground for Drug Discovery in Spectrum Disorders

Past Seminars

Tuesday, October 20

Dr. Mukund Chorghade, Chorghade Enterprises
Chemosynthetic Livers: Predict, Prepare and Prove the Structure, Activity and Toxicity of Drug Metabolites

Thursday, November 19

Dr. Dolores Di Vizio, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center & Harvard University
Large Oncosomes: New Frontiers for Cell-to-Cell Communication in Cancer

Tuesday, December 1

Dr. Dan Huh, University of Pennsylvania
Microengineered Physiological Biomimicry: Human Organs-on-Chips

Tuesday, December 8

Dr. Narayan Avadhani, University of Pennsylvania
Mitochondrial Respiratory Stress, Retrograde Signaling and Telomere Maintenance

Tuesday, February 23

Dr. Heath Schmidt, University of Pennsylvania
Central Glucagon-like Peptide-1 Signaling: A Novel Mechanism Underlying Cocaine Addiction

Tuesday, March 15

Dr. Fadi Akar, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
Regulation of Arrhythmias by Mitochondrial Ion Channel Complexes

Tuesday, March 22

Dr. Felice Elefant, Drexel University
Tip60/HAT/HDAC Balance Promotes Neuroprotection of Cognitive Function in the Neurodegenerative Brain

Tuesday, April 12

Dr. Steven Thomas, University of Pennsylvania
Neuromodulatory Signaling in Cognition and Stress: Relevance for PTSD

Tuesday, April 26

Dr. Volker Neugebauer, Texas Tech
Corticolimbic Plasticity in Pain

 Back to Top

Elements of a laboratory experiment.