For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Department of Pharmacology & Physiology Secondary and Adjunct Faculty

These secondary and adjunct faculty members complement the skills and expertise of our core, full-time pharmacology and physiology faculty.


Secondary Faculty

Guillermo Alexander, PhD

Affiliation: Drexel University College of Medicine
Occupation: Professor, Department of Neurology
Interests: Pain; Alzheimer's disease and ALS
  guillermo.alexander@drexelmed.edu


Wei Du, MD, MS

Affiliation: Drexel University College of Medicine
Occupation: Clinical Professor and Vice Chair of Psychiatry; Director, Adult Psychiatry Residency Program
Interests: Clinical psychiatry
  wei.du@drexelmed.edu


Terry Heiman-Patterson, MD

Affiliation: Drexel University College of Medicine
Occupation: Professor, Department of Neurology
Interests: Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  terry.heiman-patterson@drexelmed.edu


Sandhya Kortagere, PhD

Affiliation: Drexel University College of Medicine
Occupation: Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology & Immunology
Interests: Molecular pharmacology and drug discovery
  sandhya.kortage@drexelmed.edu


Andrea McCurry, MS

Affiliation: Drexel University College of Medicine
Occupation: Assistant Director, ULAR
Interests: Laboratory animal care and supervision
  andrea.mccurry@drexelmed.edu


Julian Mesina, PhD

Affiliation: Drexel University College of Medicine
Occupation: Assistant Professor; Animal Sciences Program Director, Professional Studies of the Health Sciences
Interests: Respiratory physiology; zoonotic disease in public health
  jmesina@drexelmed.edu


Jennifer Nasser, PhD, RD

Affiliation: Drexel University
Occupation: Assistant Professor
Interests: Dopamine-mediated mechanisms for food intake over- and under-consumption in humans; effects of nutrients on memory and cognition in humans
  jan57@drexel.edu


Sonia Navas-Martin, PhD

Affiliation: Drexel University College of Medicine
Occupation: Assistant Professor, Department of Microbiology & Immunology
Interests: Human hepatitis C virus; coronaviruses
  sonia.navas-martin@drexelmed.edu


Boris Polyak, PhD

Affiliation: Drexel University College of Medicine
Occupation: Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery
Interests: Nanoparticles for drug delivery; regenerative medicine
  bpolyak@drexelmed.edu


Daniel V. Schidlow, MD

Affiliation: Drexel University College of Medicine
Occupation: Dean; Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Interests: Cystic fibrosis and pulmonary conditions in children
  daniel.schidlow@drexelmed.edu


Nathaniel W. Snyder, PhD

Affiliation: Drexel University
Occupation: Assistant Professor
Interests: Autism, pharmacology, analytical chemistry with an emphasis on liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry (LC-MS)
  nws28@drexel.edu


Michael M. White, PhD

Affiliation: Drexel University College of Medicine
Occupation: Professor, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Interests: Ion channel structure-function relationships; ligand-receptor interactions; electrophysiology
  mwhite@drexelmed.edu

 
 Back to Top


Adjunct Faculty

Adeboye Adajare, PhD

Affiliation: University of the Sciences in Philadelphia
Occupation: Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Interests: Medicinal chemistry
  a.adejar@usciences.edu


Vincent Aloyo, PhD

Interests: Serotonin, animal behavior
  vincent.aloyo@gmail.com


Jess Amchin, MD, JD

Affiliation: Amchin Consulting
Occupation: Consultant
Interests: Clinical  research, law
  jamchin@comcast.net


Benjamin Blass, PhD

Affiliation: Temple University School of Pharmacy and Blass Patent Associates
Occupation: Assistant Professor of Medicinal Chemistry and U.S. Patent Agent
Interests: Medicinal chemistry; patent law
  blassbe@verizon.net


Gilbert Block, MD, PhD

Affiliation: Self-Employed
Occupation: Consultant
Interests: Central nervous system disorders and drug development
  DrGilBlock@gmail.com


Stefania Bradley, PhD

Affiliation:  Merck & Co.
Occupation: Principal Scientist
Interests: Neuroscience, drug discovery
  stefania_bradly@hotmail.com


Michael R. Brandt, PhD

Interests: Pain and pain therapeutics; behavioral pharmacology
  michaelrbrandt@yahoo.com


Elinor H. Cantor, PhD

Affiliation: Consultant
Interests: Pharmacology and consulting
  ecantor@cjres.com


Samuel K. Chacko, DVM, PhD

Affiliation: School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Interests: Pathobiology of smooth muscle, signal transduction, myosin, thin filament-associated protein caldesmon, smooth muscle cell differentiation, translational research
  chackosk@vet.upenn.edu


Ricardo Cruciani, MD, PhD

Affiliation: Drexel University College of Medicine
Occupation: Chair, Department of Neurology
Interests: Pain and clinical treatment
  racruciani@gmail.com


Michael Derelanko, PhD

Affiliation:  Independent Consultant
Interests: Toxicology
  mjderel@gmail.com


Timi Edeki, MD, PhD

Affiliation: AstraZeneca
Occupation: Senior Director, Clinical Pharmacology DMPK
Interests: Drug disposition and response; botanical-drug interactions; personalized medicine and pharmacogenomics
  timi.edeki@astrazeneca.com


Melissa Egbertson, PhD

Occupation: Consultant
Interests: Medicinal chemistry, HIV, pain
  melissaegbertson@gmail.com


Masiej Gasior, MD, PhD

Affiliation: Teva Pharmaceuticals
Occupation: Sr. Medical Director; Global Drug Development, CNSbr /> Interests: In vivo neuropsychopharmacology; behavioral pharmacology; addiction; epilepsy; pain
  nextpharma@gmail.com


Hugo Geerts, PhD

Affiliation: Silico Biosciences
Occupation: Chief Scientific Officer
Interests: Neuropharmacology; modeling and simulation of complex brain networks in CNS diseases
  hugo-geerts@in-silico-biosciences.com


Paul Gilligan, PhD

Affiliation/Occupation: Consultant
Interests: Medicinal chemistry
  pjgillig@gmail.com


Alessandro Graziano, PhD

Occupation: Adjunct Assistant Professor
Interests: Mechanisms of CNS plasticity, pain after spinal cord injury, chronic pain
  alessandro.graziano@drexelmed.edu


Linda Hiner, MD

Occupation: Retired Physician
Interests: Renal physiology
  lh26@drexel.edu


Pamela Hornby, PhD

Affiliation: Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of J&J
Occupation: Senior Research Fellow, Biologics Research
Interests: Pharmacology and drug discovery
  phornby@its.jnj.com


Peter H. Hutson, PhD

Affiliation: Shire Pharmaceuticals
Occupation: Director, CNS Disorders
Interests: Neuropharmacology; psychiatric disorders; sleep
  petehutson2@gmail.com


Bruce Jones, PhD

Affiliation: Anakim Biologics, LLC
Occupation: Consultant
Interests: Biologics
  bejonesphd@gmail.com


Jonathan L. Katz, PhD

Interests: Substance abuse
  jkatzzz@gmail.com


William Kinney, PhD

Affiliation: Pennsylvania Biotechnology Center, Doylestown
Interests: Medicinal chemistry
  bill.kinney@ihvr.org


Lars Knutsen, PhD

Affiliation: Discovery Pharma, LLC and Requis Pharmaceuticals
Occupation: President/CEO
Interests: Medicinal chemistry; drug research and development; design of new drugs for sleep, neurological disorders and neurodegeneration; adenosine and its receptors
  lars.knutsen@drexelmed.edu


Patrick Y. Lam, PhD

Affiliation: PA Drug Discovery Institute
Occupation: Associate Professor of Chemistry/Consultant
Interests: Medicinal chemistry and drug development
  patrick.ys.lam@gmail.com


Michael Liebman, PhD

Affiliation: IPQ Analytics, LLC
Occupation:  President, IPQ
Interests: Informatic technology
  michael.liebman@drexelmed.edu


Laura Lubbers, PhD

Affiliation: Merck
Occupation: Senior Research Biologist
Interests: RNAi therapeutics
  laura_lubbers@merck.com


Richard Mangano, PhD

Affiliation: Adolor Corporation
Occupation: VP Clinical Research and Development
Interests: Clinical trials; drug discovery and development
  richard.mangano@verizon.net


Michael J. Marino, PhD

Affiliation: Merck Research Laboratories
Occupation: Group Leader, Electrophysiology, InVivo Pharmacology, Pain
Interests: Psychiatric disorders; CNS drug discovery
  michael.marino@merck.com


Eliot Ohlstein, PhD

Affiliation: AltheRx Pharmaceutical, Inc.
Occupation: Chief Scientific Officer/Head of Research and Development
Interests: Drug discovery and development
  eliot@altherx.com


MaryAnn Pelleymounter, PhD

Affiliation: NINDS
Occupation: Scientific Project Manager
Interests: Drug discovery, obesity, translational research
  pelleymounterm@yahoo.com


Rajesh Ranganathan, PhD

Affiliation: NINDS
Occupation: Director, Office of Translational Research
Interests: Translational science, neurotherapeutics and education
  rajesh.ranganathan@nih.gov


Allen Reitz, PhD

Affiliation: PA Center for Drug Discovery/ALS Biopharma, LLS & Fox Chase Chemical Diversity Center
Occupation: Director/CEO
Interests: Drug discovery
  AReitz@pcdd.us


Robert Ring, PhD

Interests: Autism spectrum disorders research; mood disorders research; drug discovery and development, and neuropeptide research
  rob.ring.phd@gmail.com


Joseph W. Romano, PhD

Affiliation: NWJ Group
Occupation: President
Interests: HIV/infectious disease; drug development
  NWJGroup@gmail.com


Sharon Rosenzweig-Lipson, PhD

Affiliation: IVS Consulting LLC
Occupation: President
Interests: Translational medicine; in vivo models; drug discovery
  ivs.srlipson@gmail.com


James Samanen, PhD

Affiliation: James Samanen Consulting LLC
Occupation: Consultant
Interests: Drug discovery and development
  jamessamanen@gmail.com 


Paul Leo Shea, MD

Affiliation: St. Christopher's Hospital for Children
Occupation: Physician
Interests: Pediatrics, respiratory physiology
  paul.shea@tenethealth.com


David Stone, PhD

Affiliation: Merck Research Labs
Occupation: Director & Head of Genetics
Interests: Genomics
  david_stone4@merck.com


Marcel Waldinger, MD, PhD

Affiliation: Utrecht University for Pharmaceutical Sciences
Occupation: Professor, Department of Pharmacology
Interests: Drug discovery & development, sexual dysfunction, serotonergic drugs
  md@waldinger.demon.nl


Michael Williams, PhD, DSc

Affiliation/Occupation: Retired
Interests: Drug discovery and neuropharmacology
  rivoli1635@comcast.net

 
 Back to Top

Elements of a laboratory experiment.