For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Peter Herczfeld

Lester A Kraus Professor

Peter Herczfeld
Office: Bossone 511
Phone: 215-895-2256

B.S., Physics, Colorado State University
M.S., Physics, University of Minnesota
Ph.D., University of Minnesota (1967)

Research Interests

Microwave photonics, including optically controlled and activated high speed devices; microchip lasers; optically generated high fidelity microwave and millimeter-wave signals; coherent fiber-optic links; all-optical microwave receivers; applications of photonics and microwaves to biology and medicine; renewable energy sources; energy policy.


Born in Budapest Hungary in 1936 and now a U.S. citizen, Peter R. Herczfeld received his B.S. degree in Physics from Colorado State University in 1961, his M.S. in Physics in 1963, and his Ph. D. in electrical Engineering in1967, both from the University of Minnesota. Since 1967 he has been on the faculty of Drexel University, where he is the Lester Kraus Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Dr. Herczfeld received numerous teaching honors including the Mary and Christian Lindback Distinguished Teacher Award at Drexel University (1995) and the IEEE-MTT-S Fred Rosenbaum Distinguished Educator Award (1997). 

Dr. Herczfeld is the Director of the center for Microwave-Lightwave Engineering at Drexel, a Center of Excellence that conduct research in microwaves and photonics. He has published over 450 papers in Solid-State Electronics, Microwaves, Photonics, Solar Energy, and Biomedical Engineering. He is a Life Fellow of the IEEE, a recipient of the IEEE Millennium medal and served as the distinguished Lecturer of IEEE-MTT-S. IEEE. Dr. Herczfeld received of several research and publication awards, including the European Microwave Prize (1986 and 1994). He initiated the Microwave Photonics conferences, a LEOS-MTT joint venture, which has blossomed into a highly respected international meeting. In 2006 he received the IEEE-MTT-S Pioneer award for research in microwave photonics.