For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Faculty Directory

Name/Title

Contact Information

Specialization

Pramod Abichandani
Assistant Teaching Professor, Drexel Engineering Core Curriculum

View Full Profile

pva23@drexel.edu

215-571-3806

Bossone 328

Optimal, multi-dimensional, data-driven decision-making, through the use of techniques from mathematical programming, linear and nonlinear systems theory, statistics, and machine learning.

Suryadevara Basavaiah
Teaching Professor

View Full Profile

basu@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-6922

Bossone 412

Computer engineering; computer engineering education; custom circuit design; VLSI technology; process and silicon fabrication.

Tom Chmielewski
Assistant Teaching Professor, Drexel Engineering Core Curriculum

View Full Profile

tchmielewski@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2254

Bossone 413I

Modeling and simulation of electro-mechanical systems; Optimal, Adaptive and Non-Linear Control; DC Motor Control; System Identification; Kalman Filters (Smoothing Algorithms, tracking); image processing, Robot design; Biometric technology and design of embedded systems for control applications utilizing MATLAB and SIMULINK

Andrew Cohen
Associate Professor

View Full Profile

acohen@coe.drexel.edu

215-517-4358

Bossone 110

Image processing; multi-target tracking; statistical pattern recognition and machine learning; algorithmic information theory; 5-D visualization.

Fernand Cohen
Professor

View Full Profile

fscohen@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-1420

Bossone 410

Computer vision; medical image processing; applied stochastic processes.

Kapil R. Dandekar
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Associate Dean of Research, College of Engineering

View Full Profile

dandekar@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2228

LeBow 239

Cellular/mobile communications and wireless LAN; smart antenna/MIMO for wireless communications; applied computational electromagnetics; microwave antenna and receiver development; free space optical communication; ultrasonic communication; 
sensor networks for homeland security; ultrawideband communication.

Afshin Daryoush
Professor

View Full Profile

daryoush@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2362

Bossone 501

Microwave photonics systems; nonlinear microwave circuits; RFIC and wireless communications; antennas and radiating systems; electromagnetic interaction with biological systems.

Jaudelice Cavalcante de Oliveira
Associate Professor

View Full Profile

jau@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2248

Bossone 202

Ad-hoc and sensor networks; network management; traffic engineering; congestion control; network routing; engineering education.

Bruce Eisenstein
Arthur J. Rowland Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Vice Dean, College of Engineering

View Full Profile

eisens@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2210

Center for Automation Technology 170

Pattern recognition; estimation theory; decision theory; digital signal processing.

Robert Fischl
Professor Emeritus

View Full Profile

fischl@coe.drexel.edu

Power systems; power electronics; systems analysis; optimization

Adam Fontecchio
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs, College of Engineering; Associate Director, Expressive and Creative Interactive Technologies (ExCITe) Center

View Full Profile

fontecchio@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2047

University Crossings 119

Electro-optics; liquid crystals; polymer dispersed liquid crystals; holography; remote sensing; color filtration; electrically switchable Bragg gratings.

Gary Friedman
Professor

View Full Profile

gary@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2108

Bossone 510

Magnetic sensors; miniature Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) systems; Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (MEMS).

Eli Fromm
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering and LeRoy A Brothers Professor, Educational Research & Development

View Full Profile

fromm@drexel.edu

215-895-2201

Bossone 513b

Innovative structures, content, delivery methods and assessment of the undergraduate engineering educational experience; extensions to the K-12 school environment with engineering as a contextual means to support creative approaches to learning science and mathematics; development of the technological workforce and professoriate of the future; technological literacy.

Edwin Gerber
Professor

View Full Profile

gerber@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2255

Bossone 411

Computerized instruments and measurements; undergraduate engineering education.

Allon Guez
Professor

View Full Profile

guezal@drexel.edu

215-895-1646

Bossone 101

Control systems; decision making and optimization in business systems; automation; biomedical systems and devices; neuro-engineering; machine learning and adaptation.

Mark Hempstead
Junior Colehower Chair and Assistant Professor

View Full Profile

mhempstead@coe.drexel.edu

215-571-3688

Bossone 413c

Computer engineering; power-aware computing; computer architecture; low power VLSI design; wireless sensor networks

Peter Herczfeld
Lester A Kraus Professor

View Full Profile

herczfeld@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2256

Bossone 511

Microwave photonics, including optically controlled and activated high speed devices; microchip lasers; optically generated high fidelity microwave and millimeter-wave signals; coherent fiber-optic links; all-optical microwave receivers; applications of photonics and microwaves to biology and medicine; renewable energy sources; energy policy.

Leonid Hrebien
Professor

View Full Profile

lhrebien@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-6755

Bossone 310

Dynamics and controls of biological systems in the context of aerospace medicine, especially the development of G-suits for aircraft pilots; detection and estimation in large scale databases of biological data (e.g., proteomics and cytometry) with applications in predictive toxicology and drug development.

Paul Kalata
Associate Professor

View Full Profile

kalata@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2251

Bossone 102

Stochastic and adaptive control theory; estimation, identification and decision theory; computer control; system design; Kalman filters.

Moshe Kam
Robert Quinn Professor

View Full Profile

kam@minerva.ece.drexel.edu

215-895-0364

Detection and estimation; sensor networks; team decision making; multisensor architectures; data and decision fusion; navigation and robotics; modeling and simulation; wireless communications; engineering education.

Nagarajan Kandasamy
Associate Professor

View Full Profile

kandasamy@drexel.edu

215-895-1996

Bossone 603

Computer performance management; computer architecture; fault-tolerant systems; dependable computing.

Bruce Katz
Adjunct Professor

View Full Profile

bruce.f.katz@drexel.edu

215-895-1467

Neural networks; the study of aesthetics; artificial intelligence; music perception.

Youngmoo Kim
Associate Professor and Director, Expressive and Creative Interactive Technologies (ExCITe) Center

View Full Profile

ykim@drexel.edu

215-895-5973

Bossone 413d

Machine listening and learning; audio signal processing; human-computer interaction; audio source separation; audio data compression.

Timothy Kurzweg
Associate Professor; Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Studies and Director of the BSE Program

View Full Profile

kurzweg@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-0549

Bossone 313b

Micro-optical systems; optical spectroscopy; programmable imaging with MEMS; bio-sensors; diffuse optical communication; MEMS fabrication; diffractive optics; optical automation; optical modeling and simulation; magnetic particle locomotion; meta-materials; reconfigurable antennas.

Mohammad Madihian
Adjunct Professor

View Full Profile

madihian@ieee.org

919-641-5683

Solid-state device-circuit interaction; microwave and millimeter-wave monolithic circuit design and evaluation technology; solid-state power generation/amplification/mixing technology; single/multi-mode wireless RF/IF transceiver technology

Karen Miu
Professor

View Full Profile

miu@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-6207

Bossone 413a

Power systems; distribution networks; distribution automation; optimization; system analysis.

Bahram Nabet
Professor

View Full Profile

nabet@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-6761

Bossone 502

High speed semiconductor devices (photodetectors and transistors); optoelectronics; nanoelectronics; plasma electronics; and nanophotonics.

Prawat Nagvajara
Associate Professor

View Full Profile

nagvajara@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2378

Bossone 103

Application specific computing; reconfigurable computing; field programmable gate arrays (FPGA); custom computing.

Vasileios Nasis
Associate Teaching Professor

View Full Profile

vtn23@drexel.edu

215-895-2257

3101 Market St, Room 252b

Imaging with MOEMS, Projection systems using MEMS/MOEMS, Wireless communications, Remote monitoring, sensor networks.

Dagmar E. Niebur
Associate Professor

View Full Profile

niebur@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-6749

Bossone 402

Electric power systems dynamics; security, monitoring and control of non-linear hybrid systems; design and control of terrestrial power systems; shipboard systems; intelligent information processing including neural nets, fuzzy systems and blind source separation techniques.

Chika Nwankpa
Interim Department Head, Professor

View Full Profile

nwankpa@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2218

Bossone 401

Power system dynamics; stochastic modeling; power electronic switching systems; optically controlled high power switches.

Christopher Peters
Teaching Professor

View Full Profile

cpeters@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-6604

Bossone 512

Nuclear reactor design; ionizing radiation detection; nuclear forensics; power plant reliability and risk analysis; naval/marine power and propulsion; directed energy/high power microwaves; nonstationary signal processing; radar; electronic survivability/susceptibility to harsh environments; electronic warfare

Karkal Prabhu
Teaching Professor

View Full Profile

Karkal.S.Prabhu@drexel.edu

215-895-6243

Bossone 612

Computer Engineering Education, Computer Architecture, Embedded Systems

Richard Primerano
Assistant Teaching Professor, Drexel Engineering Core Curriculum

View Full Profile

richard.anthony.primerano@drexel.edu

215-895-2315

Bossone 413H

biologically inspired robotics, robot locomotion, signal processing, ultrasonic data transmission

Gail L. Rosen
Associate Professor

View Full Profile

gailr@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-0400

Bossone 403

Digital signal processing; genomics; biological modeling; chemical source localization and tracking; bio-inspired robotics; adaptive filtering.

Iman Salama
Assistant Teaching Professor, Drexel at BCC

View Full Profile

is74@drexel.edu

856-222-9311 ext 2045

TEC 211F

RF and microwave filter analysis and design, applied electromagnetics, numerical techniques, time domain reflectometry, time domain and frequency domain microwave measurements, simulation and modeling, material characterization.

Ioannis Savidis
Assistant Professor

View Full Profile

ISavidis@coe.drexel.edu

215-571-4584

Bossone 610

Analysis, modeling, and design methodologies for high performance digital and mixed-signal integrated circuits; Emerging integrated circuit technologies; Electrical and thermal modeling and characterization, signal and power integrity, and power and clock delivery for 3-D IC technologies.

Kevin J. Scoles
Associate Professor

View Full Profile

kscoles@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2259

Bossone 413c

Engineeering education and student retention; alternative energy; electronic circuit applications; microelectronic packaging.

Harish Sethu
Associate Professor

View Full Profile

sethu@drexel.edu

215-895-5876

Bossone 611

Design and analysis of protocols, architectures and algorithms in computer networks; network structure and large-scale dynamics; web science; network security; distributed algorithms in mobile ad hoc networks and sensor networks.

James Shackleford
Assistant Professor

View Full Profile

shack@drexel.edu

215-571-4269

Bossone 211

Medical image processing, high performance computing, embedded systems,
computer vision, machine learning

P. Mohana Shankar
Allen Rothwarf Professor

View Full Profile

shankapm@drexel.edu

215-895-6632

Bossone 311

Wireless communications; channel modeling; ultrasonic Imaging; medical ultrasound; fiber optic sensors; biophotonics.

Matthew Stamm
Assistant Professor

View Full Profile

MStamm@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-5894

Bossone 413f

Information Security; Multimedia Forensics and Anti-Forensics; Information Verification; Adversarial Dynamics; Signal Processing; 

Baris Taskin
Associate Professor

View Full Profile

taskin@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-5972

Bossone 413e

Electronic Design Automation (EDA) of VLSI Circuits, High-Performance Circuits, Resonant Clocking, Integrated Circuit (IC) Physical Design, Nanoarchitectures and Wireless IC Interconnects

Lazar Trachtenberg
Professor

View Full Profile

trachtenberg@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2282

Bossone 111

Fault tolerant and secure computing machines; optimal design methods; theory of logically computing machines; multi-objective signal processing.

Oleh Tretiak
Emeritus Professor

View Full Profile

tretiak@drexel.edu

215-895-2214

Bossone 413j

Imaging and image processing.

Yon Visell
Assistant Professor

View Full Profile

yon.visell@drexel.edu

215-571-4507

Bossone 602

haptic display engineering, material and biomechanical contact physics, neuroscientific and physical basis of human tactile sensation/perception, haptic human-machine interaction, sensorimotor learning, interaction in virtual reality

John MacLaren Walsh
Associate Professor

View Full Profile

jwalsh@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-2360

Bossone 203

Delay mitigating codes and rate delay tradeoffs in multipath routed and network coded networks; joint source separation and identification; performance and convergence of distributed estimation in wireless sensor networks via expectation propagation.

Steven Weber
Associate Professor and Associate Department Head for Graduate Studies

View Full Profile

sweber@coe.drexel.edu

215-895-0254

Bossone 313d

Mathematical modeling of computer and communication networks, specifically streaming multimedia and ad hoc networks.