For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Faculty Directory

Name/Title/Contact

Specialization

Suryadevara Basavaiah

Suryadevara Basavaiah
Teaching Professor

basu@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-6922
Bossone 412

Full Profile

Computer engineering; computer engineering education; custom circuit design; VLSI technology; process and silicon fabrication

Tom Chmielewski

Tom Chmielewski
Assistant Teaching Professor
Drexel Engineering Core Curriculum

tchmielewski@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2254
Bossone 413E

Full Profile

Modeling and simulation of electro-mechanical systems; pptimal, adaptive and non-linear control; DC motor control; system identification; kalman filters (smoothing algorithms, tracking); image processing; robot design; biometric technology and design of embedded systems for control applications utilizing MATLAB and SIMULINK

Andrew Cohen

Andrew Cohen
Associate Professor

acohen@coe.drexel.edu
215-571-4358
Bossone 110

Full Profile

Image processing; multi-target tracking; statistical pattern recognition and machine learning; algorithmic information theory; 5-D visualization

Fernand Cohen

Fernand Cohen
Professor

fscohen@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-1420
Bossone 410

Full Profile

Computer vision; medical image processing; applied stochastic processes

Kapil Dandekar

Kapil R. Dandekar
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, College of Engineering

dandekar@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2228
LeBow 239

Full Profile

Software defined/cognitive radio prototyping; reconfigurable, metamaterial, and non-traditional material antennas for wireless systems; smart textiles for biomedical monitoring applications; smart antenna/MIMO systems for wireless communications; sensor networks for air quality and homeland security; free space optical and ultrasonic communication; wireless physical layer security; service learning and cybersecurity education

Afshin Daryoush

Afshin Daryoush
Professor

daryoush@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2362
Bossone 501

Full Profile

Microwave photonics systems; nonlinear microwave circuits; RFIC and wireless communications; antennas and radiating systems; electromagnetic interaction with biological systems

Jaudelice de Oliveira

Jaudelice Cavalcante de Oliveira
Associate Professor
Associate Department Head of Undergraduate Affairs

jau@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2248
Bossone 313b

Full Profile

Software-defined networking; social and economic networks; network security; design and analysis of protocols, algorithms and architectures in computer networks, particularly solutions for the Internet of Things

Bruce Eisenstein

Bruce Eisenstein
Arthur J. Rowland Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Vice Dean, College of Engineering

eisens@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2359
Center for Automation Technology 170

Full Profile

Pattern recognition; estimation theory; decision theory; digital signal processing

Robert Fischl
Professor Emeritus

fischl@coe.drexel.edu

Full Profile

Power systems; power electronics; systems analysis; optimization

Adam Fontecchio

Adam Fontecchio
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Affairs, College of Engineering
Associate Director, Expressive and Creative Interactive Technologies (ExCITe) Center

fontecchio@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2047
University Crossings 120

Full Profile

Electro-optics; liquid crystals; polymer dispersed liquid crystals; holography; remote sensing; color filtration; electrically switchable Bragg gratings

Gary Friedman

Gary Friedman
Professor

gary@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2108
Bossone 510

Full Profile

Magnetic sensors; miniature Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) systems; Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems (MEMS)

Eli Fromm

Eli Fromm
Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
LeRoy A Brothers Professor, Educational Research & Development

fromm@drexel.edu
215-895-2201
Bossone 513b

Full Profile

Innovative structures, content, delivery methods and assessment of the undergraduate engineering educational experience; extensions to the K-12 school environment with engineering as a contextual means to support creative approaches to learning science and mathematics; development of the technological workforce and professoriate of the future; technological literacy

Edwin Gerber

Edwin Gerber
Professor

gerber@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2255
Bossone 411

Full Profile

Computerized instruments and measurements; undergraduate engineering education

Allon Guez

Allon Guez
Professor

guezal@drexel.edu
215-895-1646
Bossone 101

Full Profile

Control systems; decision making and optimization in business systems; automation; biomedical systems and devices; neuro-engineering; machine learning and adaptation

Peter Herczfeld

Peter Herczfeld
Lester A Kraus Professor

herczfeld@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2256
Bossone 511

Full Profile

Microwave photonics, including optically controlled and activated high speed devices; microchip lasers; optically generated high fidelity microwave and millimeter-wave signals; coherent fiber-optic links; all-optical microwave receivers; applications of photonics and microwaves to biology and medicine; renewable energy sources; energy policy

Leonid Hrebien

Leonid Hrebien
Professor

lhrebien@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-6755
Bossone 310

Full Profile

Dynamics and controls of biological systems in the context of aerospace medicine, especially the development of G-suits for aircraft pilots; detection and estimation in large scale databases of biological data (e.g., proteomics and cytometry) with applications in predictive toxicology and drug development

Paul Kalata

Paul Kalata
Associate Professor

kalata@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2251
Bossone 102

Full Profile

Stochastic and adaptive control theory; estimation, identification and decision theory; computer control; system design; Kalman filters

Nagarajan Kandasamy

Nagarajan Kandasamy
Associate Professor
Associate Department Head for Graduate Affairs

kandasamy@drexel.edu
215-895-1996
Bossone 603

Full Profile

Computer performance management; computer architecture; fault-tolerant systems; dependable computing

Bruce Katz

Bruce Katz
Adjunct Professor

bruce.f.katz@drexel.edu
215-895-1467

Full Profile

Neural networks; the study of aesthetics; artificial intelligence; music perception

Youngmoo Kim

Youngmoo Kim
Associate Professor
Director, Expressive and Creative Interactive Technologies (ExCITe) Center

ykim@drexel.edu
215-895-5973
Bossone 413d

Full Profile

Machine listening and learning; audio signal processing; human-computer interaction; audio source separation; audio data compression

Timothy Kurzweg

Timothy Kurzweg
Associate Professor

kurzweg@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-0549
Bossone 601

Full Profile

Micro-optical systems; optical spectroscopy; programmable imaging with MEMS; bio-sensors; diffuse optical communication; MEMS fabrication; diffractive optics; optical automation; optical modeling and simulation; magnetic particle locomotion; meta-materials; reconfigurable antennas

Mohammed Madihian

Mohammad Madihian
Adjunct Professor

madihian@ieee.org
919-641-5683

Full Profile

Solid-state device-circuit interaction; microwave and millimeter-wave monolithic circuit design and evaluation technology; solid-state power generation/amplification/mixing technology; single/multi-mode wireless RF/IF transceiver technology

Karen Miu

Karen Miu
Professor

miu@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-6207
Bossone 413a

Full Profile

Power systems; distribution networks; distribution automation; optimization; system analysis

Bahram Nabet

Bahram Nabet
Professor

bnabet@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-6761
Bossone 502

Full Profile

High speed semiconductor devices (photodetectors and transistors); optoelectronics; nanoelectronics; plasma electronics; and nanophotonics

Prawat Nagvajara

Prawat Nagvajara
Associate Professor

nagvajara@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2378
Bossone 103

Full Profile

Application specific computing; reconfigurable computing; field programmable gate arrays (FPGA); custom computing

Vasileios Nasis

Vasileios Nasis
Associate Teaching Professor

vtn23@drexel.edu
215-895-2257
3101 Market St, Room 252b

Full Profile

Imaging with MOEMS; projection systems using MEMS/MOEMS; wireless communications; remote monitoring; sensor networks

Dagmar Niebur

Dagmar E. Niebur
Associate Professor

niebur@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-6749
Bossone 402

Full Profile

Electric power systems dynamics; security, monitoring and control of non-linear hybrid systems; design and control of terrestrial power systems; shipboard systems; intelligent information processing including neural nets, fuzzy systems and blind source separation techniques

Chika Nwankpa

Chika Nwankpa
Department Head, Professor

nwankpa@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-0364
Bossone 313a

Full Profile

Power system dynamics; stochastic modeling; power electronic switching systems; optically controlled high power switches

Christopher Peters

Christopher Peters
Teaching Professor

cpeters@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-6604
Bossone 512

Full Profile

Nuclear reactor design; ionizing radiation detection; nuclear forensics; power plant reliability and risk analysis; naval/marine power and propulsion; directed energy/high power microwaves; nonstationary signal processing; radar; electronic survivability/susceptibility to harsh environments; electronic warfare

Karkal Prabhu

Karkal Prabhu
Teaching Professor

Karkal.S.Prabhu@drexel.edu
215-895-6243
Bossone 612

Full Profile

Computer engineering education; computer architecture; embedded systems

Gail Rosen

Gail L. Rosen
Associate Professor

gailr@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-0400
Bossone 403

Full Profile

Digital signal processing; machine learning genomics; biological modeling; chemical source localization and tracking

Iman Salama
Associate Teaching Professor, Drexel at BCC

is74@drexel.edu
856-222-9311 ext 2045
TEC 211F

Full Profile

RF and microwave filter analysis and design, applied electromagnetics, numerical techniques, time domain reflectometry, time domain and frequency domain microwave measurements, simulation and modeling, material characterization

Ioannis Savidis

Ioannis Savidis
Assistant Professor

ISavidis@coe.drexel.edu
215-571-4584
Bossone 610

Full Profile

Analysis, modeling, and design methodologies for high performance digital and mixed-signal integrated circuits; Emerging integrated circuit technologies; Electrical and thermal modeling and characterization, signal and power integrity, and power and clock delivery for 3-D IC technologies

Kevin Scoles

Kevin J. Scoles
Associate Professor

kscoles@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2259
Bossone 413c

Full Profile

Engineeering education and student retention; alternative energy; electronic circuit applications; microelectronic packaging

Harish Sethu

Harish Sethu
Associate Professor

sethu@drexel.edu
215-895-5876
Bossone 611

Full Profile

Network science and data mining; social computing; web security and privacy; web performance; design and analysis of protocols, architectures and algorithms in computer networks

James Shackleford

James Shackleford
Assistant Professor

shack@drexel.edu
215-571-4269
Bossone 211

Full Profile

Medical image processing, high performance computing, embedded systems, computer vision, machine learning

P Mohana Shankar

P. Mohana Shankar
Allen Rothwarf Professor

shankapm@drexel.edu
215-895-6632
Bossone 311

Full Profile

Wireless communications; channel modeling; ultrasonic Imaging; medical ultrasound; fiber optic sensors; biophotonics

Matthew Stamm

Matthew Stamm
Assistant Professor

MStamm@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-5894
Bossone 413f

Full Profile

Information Security; multimedia forensics and anti-forensics; information verification; adversarial dynamics; signal processing

Baris Taskin

Baris Taskin
Associate Professor

taskin@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-5972
Bossone 413F

Full Profile

Electronic Design Automation (EDA) of VLSI Circuits; high-performance circuits; resonant clocking; integrated circuit (IC) physical design; nanoarchitectures; and wireless IC interconnects

Lazar Trachtenberg

Lazar Trachtenberg
Professor

trachtenberg@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2282
Bossone 111

Full Profile

Fault tolerant and secure computing machines; optimal design methods; theory of logically computing machines; multi-objective signal processing

Oleh Tretiak

Oleh Tretiak
Emeritus Professor

tretiak@drexel.edu
215-895-2214
Bossone 413j

Full Profile

Imaging and image processing

John Walsh

John MacLaren Walsh
Associate Professor

jwalsh@coe.drexel.edu
215-895-2360
Bossone 203

Full Profile

Bounding the region of entropic vectors and its implications for the limits of communication networks, big data distributed storage systems, and graphical model based machine learning; efficient computation and analysis of rate regions for network coding and distributed storage: code construction, polyhedral computation, enumeration, hierarchy, and symmetry; Information Theory and Coding for Distributed and interactive function Computation, with applications in wireless resource controller design and computational learning architectures for big data processing systems; Machine Learning Assistance for and Enhancement to the Processing of Patents.

Steven Weber

Steven Weber
Professor

sweber@coe.drexel.edu
215-571-3579
Bossone 313d

Full Profile

Mathematical modeling of computer and communication networks, specifically streaming multimedia and ad hoc networks.