Departmental Undergraduate Student Awards

February 1, 2003 — Mr. Joe Bennett has been named the American Institute of Chemists Undergraduate Awardee for 2003.

Ms. Lauren May has been named the American Chemical Society Philadelphia Section Chemistry Baccalaureate Awardee for 2003. Each ACS-accredited college and university within the Philadelphia Section designates an Awardee from the Chemistry and Chemical Engineering departments. Lauren will be the guest of the Section at the award ceremony, which will be held in association with the Section Meeting on Thursday, April 10th at 6 pm to be held at Rutgers-Camden.

Each of these students will also be honored at the College of Arts & Sciences Honors Day ceremonies on Thursday May 29th 2003 at 2 pm in the Mandell Theatre. 

Ms. Houping Yin has been named the American Institute of Chemists Post-Baccalureate Awardee for 2003. This selection is based on the students’ academic record and demonstrated accomplishments in both research and teaching. Previous awardees in the department were Dr. Michael Prushan (2001) and Sr. Rose Mulligan (2002).