Search

Ivi Kusta

Ivi Kusta

Civil Engineering

Hometown: Tirana, Albania

Anticipated year of Graduation: 2015

Major: Civil Engineering 

 

Please describe your study/research interests and why.

My interest has always been towards structural analysis& design. My grandfather is a civil engineer and I grew up looking at his drawings and trying to create my own ‘’structures.’’ Coming from a small and underdeveloped country, I have always wanted to be the engineer that was going to design new inspiring structures. In becoming a civil engineer, I have the chance to play a critical role in making the world a better place.

 

Please describe your co-op experience.  Include where you worked, a brief description of your duties, and what you learned.

I have done two co-op’s so far. My first one was with the Philadelphia City Planning Commission (Mayor’s Task Force). My primary duties on my first job were: analyzing and evaluating current city owned properties and making decisions through an engineering perspective. This task involved analyzing if a particular building that was to be kept, relocated or disposed by the city. Furthermore, I helped develop and implement an asset management system that keeps track of building assets and work orders.

My second co-op was with PECO Energy Company. As a future engineer, I was interested in having knowledge about the management of infrastructure that supports human activities, including, electric power. I have done a great deal of field work through this job and I have also gotten to see and analyze how all electric devices operate from generating  power to delivering it to our homes. One of the major projects at this job that was assigned to me was doing a statistical analysis for the failure rate of different types of cables as they get older.

 

Please describe any extracurricular activities that you participate in. 

I currently am a peer mentor for the Freshman Design Experience. I help students during lab period with the questions they might have and also teach them new engineering concepts.

I am also a peer coach for Calculus 121/122.  As an undergraduate fellow, I help the students during a two hour class period to learn new concepts and improve them by working on very challenging problems.

 

I am a member of the Deans Advisory Council, which discusses ideas on how to improve Drexel’s campus infrastructure and possible problems that students might encounter.

 

After being part of the DDMA (Drexel Dragon Mentors Associations) for two years, I was elected president for the 2012-2013 school year. This organization mentors all the international students in Drexel and provides them with help and support through all their freshman year.

 

I am one of the students elected to be part of the Paul Peck Scholars. This program trains 7 selected engineers every year on how to be leaders after their graduation.

 

I am also a member of American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)

 

Explain what you would like to do after graduation.

After graduation, I want to start my PhD in Materials Engineering. I think that there will always be a better material to make a structure stronger and more economic. This is where I want to focus my studies. In taking this PhD path, I can carry out my research in this field while fulfilling my passion for teaching students.

 

Explain what you like about Drexel’s Engineering Program.

I personally think this is one of the best programs. Drexel’s co-op program is a great opportunity that this university offers, since it not only exposes you to how real world industries operate but also to great professors and staff that are always there to guide you through all the questions. The staff at Drexel is always willing to discuss topics that are of a particular interest to you.